The NFL Hall of Fame Selection Process. Where’s the transparency and legitimacy?

By Gio DiFazio

The complete trivialization of the NFL’s Hall of Fame is near completion. What was once, an elite fraternity, has boiled down to little more a popularity contest, which happens to be televised nationally.

Terrell Owens was one of the most dynamic athletes of the late 1990’s into the early 2000’s. A 1,000-yard receiver his third year in the league, Owens quickly evolved into a vertical threat, that had the ability to transform into a tailback after a catch.

Without diving, deep into the numbers, only two players produced numbers relative to what Owens put up at the turn of the millennium. Marvin Harrison and Randy Moss both had incredible careers, and Marvin Harrison has earned his Golden Jacket, while Moss is eligible for the first time in 2018.

Owens was passed over on what appears to be a myopic display of media bias. Only Jerry Rice, who many people consider the best FOOTBALL player EVER, has more receiving yards than Owens.

The most frustrating aspect is what Terrell Owens is faulted for, and is a leading contributor as to why the NFL is drowned in its own unique almost drug-like fueled environment of today. Terrell Owens, and his antics, drew me even closer to the game, and to the product that it distributes.

Selection is dominated by the pre-disposition and radical agendas of the members of the media that vote to induct the players.

What kind of criteria determines that there is consistency across the board regarding hall of fame selection? Would a certain standard have to be achieved, or do we rely on the thoughts and personal agendas of MEDIA members that elect them?

Voters that choose inductees are protected in a shroud of anonymity. The selection committee, on a singular basis, cannot be challenged since no exact vote totals are announced, per the official website of the Pro Football Hall of Fame. Only the committee and its members can be questioned. This only leads to the subjective nature of Hall of Fame induction, since individuals in the committee are protected, and never should defend the stance they are taking.

Canton can include the likes of Lawrence Taylor, Jim Brown, O.J. Simpson, but look down on a player like Terrell Owens.

The hall will induct Terrell Davis, who only played for 7 years, but consistently gloss over players like Jamal Lewis and Shawn Alexander, who both had far better numbers than Terrell Davis. If it wasn’t for one super bowl win, a player like Davis goes without being nominated, let alone inducted.

It’s fair to say that having Owens on your team may not lead to a conducive winning environment. It doesn’t change the fact of his numbers, which are far better than any receiver that is eligible for the next few years, except for Randy Moss.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s